The Archives and Special Collections at Georgetown College have a priority of preserving and making available information and artifacts pertinent to the College’s history and related local history. Housed in the LRC, the primary collection interest is unpublished materials such as photographs, scrapbooks, letters and business papers, and a small collection of objects and other published materials.
The published materials fit into two distinct classes: rare books and books with a connection to the college. The rare books are stored mainly for preservation purposes. The other category includes books on local history and books which were published by Georgetown College faculty or by the school itself. Other college publications include runs of the Georgetonian (campus newspaper 1897-present) and the Belle of the Blue (college annual published until 2007).
Before making a donation, please box all materials and provide a checklist or inventory of contents. Please note: items that have live mold or insect issues should be stored in airtight plastic bags or containers and may be refused due to dangers posed to the collection. To deliver items, please contact the archives coordinator for an appointment and to answer any questions you might have. Upon arrival, you will receive a Deed of Gift form which gives Georgetown College the right to make your materials available for use.
As per the Library Gifts Policy: “Books and other library materials given to the LRC become the property of the Library. The Library will add to its collections all gift material that supports the research and teaching mission of the college….Any materials which upon receipt are found to be so deteriorated as to make them unfit for use will be discarded” or returned. Your gift will be acknowledged with a thank you note; if you would like, we can also provide a summary of the materials once it becomes available.
Login to LibApps