Research Guides: HIS 450: Senior Seminar: Narrowing topics

Narrowing your topic

LRC Resources

Each of the resources listed below are available to you as students at Georgetown College. You can access each of these from our website, which is located here. Each of these tools can direct you to various tools and resources to help you as you start your research project, as you start to gather your resources, and as you begin the writing process.

Sources for background research

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service. The collection includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world’s best reference publishers.

Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides articles from 1,300 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and sciences.
Making of America This link opens in a new window Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Tip:

Remember, it is VITAL to organize your research into one Research Portfolio--whatever form that may take...
Word file, notecards, binder, notebook, GoogleDocs account, diary?...etc.

"I wrote them down in my Diary
so that I wouldn't have to remember"
-- Dr. Wargelin learns a lesson.