Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 111: Principles of Sociology

An introduction to library research specifically designed for SOC 111 at Georgetown College. The Sociology 111 course is designed to introduce students to sociological concepts, theories, and principles.

Types of Scholarly Sources

Special types of books

These types are distinct from monographs, a scholarly book about one particular subject.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries 

These titles offer short (usually 1-2 page) articles on various persons, topics, events, and concepts. They are arranged alphabetically, and provide concise introductions to important topics in a particular discipline, and a selected bibliography of the most important works for further study. 

Handbooks and Companions 

Handbooks and companions are anthologies of articles that summarize the history and current state of research in academic fields and sub-disciplines. The articles are written by top scholars to provide "quick and dirty" introductions to learners, as well as comprehensive bibliographies to aid in further research. Unlike encyclopedias and dictionaries, these works offer longer articles (often 20-25 pages) and are arranged thematically. 

Scholarly Articles 

Scholarly articles are the means by which scholars communicate shorter, more specific questions and answers to one another. Articles are typically 10-30 pages long, and are written (as are books) to contribute to scholarly discussion of specific questions. They are more focused than books, and the style of writing assumes familiarity with the discipline and particular issues addressed by the piece. These can be found using the library's Online Research Databases, such as EBSCO's Sociological Collection, Academic Search Premier, and JSTOR (see the Finding Resources > Articles) tabs.

Online Reference Resources