Research Guides: EDU 662: Literacy Assessment and Intervention: Home

Welcome

You'll use this guide to:

Access the best databases for articles & eBooks for research in education.
Find assessment and lesson planning resources.
Access Academic Writer and other resources to help you with APA formatting and citation.

Also, be sure to checkout the Graduate Education guide for access to Praxis test prep materials, research assistance, & more!

Find Articles & eBooks

Most library databases are available off campus with your GC username and password.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews.
ProQuest Education This link opens in a new window
ProQuest® Education Journals span the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
With EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost, users can search within a wide range of relevant eBooks using the powerful EBSCOhost search experience. With thousands of titles available across all major subject areas, users can access the full text of eBooks from their computer, or can download titles to popular portable devices.
IGI Global This link opens in a new window
IGI Global publishes the industry’s most timely and innovative peer-reviewed research across 350+ topics in 11 core subject areas, including Business & Management; Computer Science & IT; Education; Environment & Agriculture; Government & Law; Library & Information Science; Media & Communications; Medicine & Healthcare; Science & Engineering; Security & Forensics; Social Sciences & Humanities.
MackinVia This link opens in a new window
This is a Kentucky shared collection among several academic and school libraries including the following collections: ELEMENTARY COLLECTION (K-5) ; MIDDLE SCHOOL COLLECTION (6-8); HIGH SCHOOL COLLECTION (9-12); and the PROFESSIONAL LEARNING PACKAGE

All Library Databases
This is an extensive list of all library databases. Check here for additional resources, if you are not finding what you need in the above databases.

KYVL Reading Resources for Students

Visit the KYVL webpage for more resources. Many of these resources can be searched by Lexile reading level.

NoveList This link opens in a new window
Novelist is an electronic readers’ advisory resource that assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles.

Lesson Planning

READ WRITE THINK
Includes many resources for developing lesson plans, professional development, and parent resources.
International Literacy Association
Supports literacy professionals through a wide range of resources, advocacy efforts, volunteerism, and professional development activities.
NCTE
National Council of Teachers of English includes lesson planning resources for all grade levels. NCTE is a professional organization for teachers of English Studies, literacy and Language Arts.

Assessment Resources

eBooks are available through our Ebsco eBooks and IGI Global databases. Search for more eBook titles on your topic using the links above.

Understanding and Using Reading Assessment, K¿12, 3rd Edition by Peter Afflerbach
ISBN: 9781416625018
Publication Date: 2017-12-06
Assessing Reading 1: Theory and Practice by Colin Harrison; Terry Salinger
ISBN: 0415148944
Publication Date: 2002

These are only a few of the many books available for check-out. Please click the links below to get information about whether the book has been checked out.

Handbook of Reading Disability Research by Richard L. Allington (Editor); Anne McGill-Franzen (Editor)
Call Number: LB1050.5 .H265 2011
ISBN: 9780805853346
Publication Date: 2010-07-27
Handbook of Reading Research by Michael L. Kamil (Editor); Peter B. Mosenthal (Editor); P. David Pearson (Editor); Rebecca Barr (Editor); Peter Afflerbach (Contribution by); Patricia A. Alexander (Contribution by); Donna E. Alvermann (Contribution by); Patricia L. Anders (Contribution b
Call Number: LB 1050 .H278
ISBN: 9780805823998
Publication Date: 2000-03-01