Research Guides: EDU 307: Educating Exceptional Children: Citation Manuals

Primary Citation Style Guides

The best way to ensure you are properly citing sources is to refer to the appropriate style guide. Copies of these guides are available in the library's Reference Collection (1st Floor, Fireside Room).

Style	Copies at Georgetown College Library
APA	Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (all copies) Reference Copy Call Number: REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010
MLA	MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (all copies) Reference Copy Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2009
Chicago	The Chicago Manual of Style (available online and in print) Reference Copy Call Number: Ref Z 253 .U69 1993

Unsure how to use the manual...no problem. Librarians are more than happy to help you.

Need to locate other style guides? Use the library catalog and search these subject headings:

Authorship--Style manuals
Authorship--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Scholarly publishing--Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Online Resources

The following sites provide some information to help you format some citations. If in doubt, consult the guides located in the reference room.

OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab
Purdue University has put together a useful resource to help students understand how to do parenthetical citations, end notes, footnotes, etc. for APA, MLA and Chicago Style citations.
Research & Documentation Online, 5th Ed.
This website, derived from "Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, 5th Ed." written by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister, provides citation information for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE citation styles.
The Basics of APA Style
This tutorial was developed by the American Psychological Association and provides some information about citing sources in APA style. For exhaustive information, see the official APA style guide.

Citation Builders

The following are citation builders that will assist you in providing properly formatted citations for your research projects. Please be aware that the builders do sometimes get formatting wrong (such as capitalization), so you do need to check the generated citation against the proper style manual.

BibMe
Citation Machine
Citation Machine helps students and professional researchers properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources, that there is virtually no reason not to.
KnightCite
KnightCite is a web based citation generator hosted by the Calvin College Hekman Library that formats bibliographic information per academic standards for use in research papers and scholarly works. This tool can generate citations and bibliographic information in three formats, MLA Style Manual, APA style and The Chicago Manual of Style.
NC State Citation Builder
Provided by North Carolina State University Libraries, this citation builder The is based on the following citation manuals: American Psychological Association 6th edition, Modern Language Association 7th edition, Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition, and the Council of Science Editors.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.