What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Why should I access Google Scholar from the library website?
By starting your Google Scholar search from the Library website, you will automatically have direct access, both on and off campus, to subscription articles already paid for through the library.
What should I do if I’m asked to pay for the full text?
Google Scholar often links to commercial publisher websites that may ask you to buy a subscription or pay to access an article… Do not pay for articles! The Georgetown College Library already provides access to some journal articles indexed in Google Scholar.
What should I do if the full text is not available?
Any time you have trouble accessing full text,
Ask-A-Librarian for help. The Georgetown College Library also provides access to materials not owned by or available through the college through
Interlibrary Loan and through our reciprocity borrowing agreement with other local college libraries (you must have a college-issued G-Card to take advantage of this service).
Can I trust the resources listed in Google Scholar?
Not all Google Scholar results are “scholarly.” Even though Google Scholar may provide access to some peer-reviewed journal articles, not everything you find in Google Scholar is considered peer-reviewed. It is important to review and assess each information source for its appropriateness and relevance to your research.
What does “cited by” mean?
Google Scholar includes a list of references under each article and paper, so when an author cites old material, even outdated information, these appear in your search results.
What should I do if I can’t find the resources I need in Google Scholar?
If you’re not finding the information you need in Google Scholar, the Georgetown College Library offers hundreds of article databases on a wide array of subjects.
Contact us for assistance.
How can I get more help?
There’s always help available:
Contact us for assistance.
