Japanese Studies Resources: Language Learning Resources

A kid-friendly introduction to Japanese! Let's Learn Japanese kit is an introductory Japanese language learning tool specially designed to help children from preschool through early elementary level acquire fundamental words, kanji characters, phrases, and sentences in Japanese in a fun and easy way. The flashcards can be used as a learning tool in a classroom setting, at home, or anywhere that learning takes place, and can easily be taped around the room for an interactive way to learn Japanese. It contains: 64 Japanese flashcards Access to audio recordings of songs, games and activities A wall chart showing the main words and phrases at a glance A learning guide for parents and teachers The flash cards present 64 basic words and phrases representing the full range of sounds in Japanese and organized into thematic categories, including: People Colors Animals Food Body Parts Clothing Going Places Also included in this Japanese for kids kit is access to online media providing native pronunciation of the words and sample sentences for practice--sentences that children would use in everyday life. Songs and other activities are also included in the free audio recordings. Finally, the kit also includes a wall chart featuring the front of each card for kids to review and a learning guide for teachers and parents with tips, activities and more! All companion media content is accessible on the Tuttle Publishing website

The aim of this book is to provide the student of Japanese with a simple method for correlating the writing and the meaning of Japanese characters in such a way as to make them both easy to remember. It is intended not only for the beginner, but also for the more advanced student looking for some relief from the constant frustration of how to write the kanji and some way to systematize what he or she already knows. The author begins with writing because - contrary to first impressions - it is in fact the simpler of the two. He abandons the traditional method of ordering the kanji according to their frequency of use and organizes them according to their component parts or primitive elements. the student is led to harness the powers of imaginative memory to learn the various combinations that result.

Shows students how to pronounce characters and provides helpful tools for memorizing them. This volume lays out the varieties of phonetic patterns and offers hints for learning readings, which might otherwise appear completely random, in an efficient and rational way.

The acknowledged authority on Japanese Kanji, The Kanji Dictionary makes written Japanese more accessible than ever before and is an absolutely vital tool for anyone seeking to learn Japanese at an intermediate or advanced level. This is the only kanji dictionary of its kind to employ a revolutionary multiple-reference compound system. Every kanji compound, a word or phrase made up of two or more characters, is listed under each of its components characters. This unique, time-saving feature makes finding compounds fast and easy. Entries are arranged according to a radical based reference system, similar to that used in most other dictionaries, but it has been simplified to make it easier to learn and use. Also, the comprehensive on/kun readings index and handy radical "overview lists" provide further means to find an entry. The focus of this reference work is kanji compounds, and the more than 47,000 entries in the main text include the most common and most important terms and expressions currently in use. The addition of newly coined terms, particularly those in new technical fields, is another key feature. Features over 47,000 entries with an emphasis on current expressions. Arranged for search from any kanji in a compound. Contains a complete on/kun (Chinese/Japanese) reading index. Includes an easy-to-use radical guide. Provides appendices of counters, historical periods, common Japanese surnames, etc.

This dictionary contains the 2000 kanji and 24,000 kanji compounds necessary to understand contemporary Japanese. Characters that correspond to core meanings are highlighted in red for easy reference. They are then followed by character meanings that illustrate how these characters are combined. This dictionary contains the 2000 kanji and 24,000 kanji compounds necessary to understand contemporary Japanese. Characters that correspond to core meanings are highlighted in red for easy reference. They are then followed by character meanings that illustrate how these characters are

"Unexcelled as a dictionary of basic Sino-Japanese characters. Extremely easy to use."--Japan Society This is the utmost classic and well regarded standard Japanese Kanji Dictionary available today. The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary is a complete revision of The Original Reader's Japanese-English Character Dictionary, published by Charles E. Tuttle Company in 1962. Long the foremost Japanese-English character dictionary, adopted by Japanese-study programs around the world and used at all levels of Japanese language study, the Nelson, as it is familiarly called, has been enhanced in this edition with several fundamental changes. The Universal Radical Index, an significant advance on the traditional character indices, has been created as a handy appendix that enables users to search for any main-entry character's reference number in Morohashi's Dai Kanwa Jiten. Over 1,200 characters have been added and more than 2,000 new on-kun entries included. Definitions have been modernized to reflect current usage and translation. This revised edition is updated with additional characters, contemporary definitions, and an innovative radical index system and sets new standards of excellence, easy-of-use, and reliability for Japanese language reference tools. This edition keeps pace with the evolution of the Japanese language and remains an indispensable tool for students and scholars of Japanese