Research Guides: Biology Resource Guide: Articles

Recommended Biology Databases

PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by 14 U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
AGRICOLA
Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations.
GreenFILE
Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887.
JSTOR
Provides articles from 1,300 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and sciences.

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. In short a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.

Bio-protocol Journal
Bio-protocol Journal is an open access online journal that publishes peer-reviewed protocols in many areas of the life sciences, including but not limited to biochemistry, cancer biology, cell biology, developmental biology, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant science, stem cell biology, and systems biology. It was founded by Stanford Stanford postdoctoral researchers in 2010.
Biology
"Biology is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal of biological sciences published monthly online by MDPI. The Spanish Society for Nitrogen Fixation (SEFIN) and Federation of European Laboratory Animal Science Associations (FELASA) are affiliated with Biology, and their members receive discounts on the article processing charges."--website
Biology Methods & Protocols
"Biology Methods & Protocols is an open access journal publishing papers that present or use new or improved methods in biological sciences, biomedicine, pre-clinical and translational research."--website
Biology Open
"Biology Open (BiO) is an Open Access journal that publishes rigorously conducted high-quality research across the breadth of the biological and biomedical sciences. It provides timely, thorough, constructive and fair peer review, with a focus on supporting researchers and reducing the pain to publish."--website
BMC Biology
"BMC Biology is an open access journal publishing outstanding research in all areas of biology, with a publication policy that combines selection for broad interest and importance with a commitment to serving authors well."--website
Current Biology
"Current Biology is a general journal that publishes original research across all areas of biology together with an extensive and varied set of editorial sections."-- website Some articles are free or open access.
Open Biology (The Royal Society)
"Open Biology is an open access Royal Society journal that welcomes original, high impact research in cell and developmental biology, molecular and structural biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, immunology, microbiology and genetics. Demonstrating its commitment to best practice in open access publishing, Open Biology has been awarded the DOAJ Seal. Articles submitted to Open Biology benefit from its broad scope and readership, dedicated media promotion and we also aim for a turnaround time of 4 weeks from submission to first decision."--website
PLOS
PLOS is a nonprofit organization that publishes the following open access journals: PLOS Biology, PLOS Complex Systems, PLOS Computational Biology, PLOS Genetics, PLOS One, PLOS Pathogens, PLOS Digital Health, PLOS Global Public Health, PLOS Medicine, PLOS Mental Health, PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases, PLOS Water, PLOS Climate, and PLOS Sustainability and Transformation.
Yale Journal of Biology and Medicine
"The Yale Journal of Biology and Medicine is a PubMed-indexed, open-access, quarterly journal edited by Yale medical, graduate, and professional students and peer-reviewed by an extensive network of experts in the fields of biology and medicine. The Journal aims to showcase outstanding research articles from all areas of biology and medicine, to publish significant case reviews, and to provide both perspectives on personal experiences in medicine and reviews of the current state of biology and medicine."--website