It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Christian Theology at Georgetown College: Find A/V Materials
This guide will assist research and reading for the Georgetown College theology curriculum.
Ensor LRC maintains a collection of Biblical and theological
commentaries for sermon preparation, as well as subscriptions to
periodicals such as Interpretation, Preaching, and Homiletics (available
helpful commentaries in the first floor Reference Collection as well as
the second floor Circulating Collection. New periodicals can be found
in the Ward Room and back issues older than six months are kept on the
Third floor of the LRC.
large multimedia collection on the second floor includes documentary
films, and newly released popular films, as well as Hollywood classics,
Independent films, and the best of foreign cinema. This collection can
be a helpful resource for Christian education programs and sermon
In a series of 24 recorded lectures, Professor Luke Timothy Johnson presents the history of the early Church and how the experience of religion caused it to become one of the fastest growing of all major religions.
Provides an overview of the development of Christian theology, from the writings of St. Paul and the formation of doctrines in the Middle Ages, through the Protestant Reformation, to the Vatican Councils. Three volumes.
Presents a series of twelve lectures that provide an introduction to the New Testament for people who recognize or appreciate its cultural importance or have religious commitments to it. This course is historical and does not presuppose faith or deny faith. The four Gospels, the book of Acts, the 21 epistles and the book of Revelation are studied in terms of the factors which eventually produced them. 12 lectures, two discs.
Buddhism challenges some of the most important Western ideas about God, human life, and the self. In Buddhism, there is no single almighty God who created the world. Instead, Buddhism teaches that all of life is suffering, and there is no permanent self. Moreover, it teaches that in accepting that all life is suffering, bliss can be achieved in this life. Buddhism's core philosophy that nothing is permanent--all is change--has made it an astonishingly lively and adaptable religion. Buddhism has transformed the civilizations of India and much of Asia, and has now become a vital part of Western culture. 12 lectures.
Hinduism is the world's oldest living religious tradition, with roots deep in the ancient cultures of the Indus Valley civilization and the Aryan society from Central Asia, which combined to create a highly diverse family of religions and philosophies. Topics explored in detail include the sacred scripture the Veda, transmigration of the soul, reincarnation, and karma. Hinduism can be both monotheistic and polytheistic, and systems of social stratification and gender relations developed during the classical phase of Hindu culture strongly influence the present day. Hinduism is varied, affirming the multiplicity of both the divine and the paths to divine reality. 12 lectures.
Surveys the history, traditions, and practice of Judaism from biblical times to today, with explanations of the major aspects of Jewish culture. Focuses on Judaism from within and how it is understood by its adherents, past and present. Covers topics such as the sacred books of Judaism, modes of worship, the calendar and holidays, and rites of passage such as bar and bat mitzva and marriage. Illustrates how Judaism reinvented itself by embracing the rabbinical tradition after the destruction of the Second Temple in 70 C.E. and considers the thinking of philosophers such as Maimonides. 12 lectures.
Islam has more than 1.2 billion adherents worldwide. Today, it is imperative that the West understand Islam's role as both a religion and a way of life, what Muslims believe, their practices and history. The lectures present an exploration of Islamic law, mysticism, civilization, and Muslim life and society through the ages. Examines the "struggle for the soul of Islam" occurring today between conservatives and reformers, mainstream Muslims and extremists, and how it affects individuals and world events, and particularly the challenges surrounding the role of women in Islam. 12 lectures.