Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources: Discipline Specific OER

OERs

Sciences & Math

InTech - World’s largest Science, Technology & Medicine Open Access book publisher.

MedEdPORTALa free peer-reviewed publication outlet provided by the Association of American Medical Colleges. The site can be used to access various educational materials like tutorials, virtual patients, simulation cases, videos, and assessment tools.

American Inst. of Mathematics : Approved Textbooks  a list of "open-source or open-access textbooks have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.

National Science Digital Library OER Commons high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.
 
HHMI's BioInteractive Video, lectures, animation, interactive exploration, interactive online labs, and more from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.
 

Humanities & Social Sciences

Art History Teaching Resources Peer-populated resources for art history teachers
 
Digital History Developed at the University of Houston, Digital History is interactive website meant to support the teaching of American History at the high school and collegiate level. The sites various resources are searchable by topic and historical era.
 
InTechOpen : Social Sciences and Humanities free online access to high-quality research.
 
OAPEN Library a collection of Open Access books in the humanities and social sciences
 
digitalculturebooksan imprint of the University of Michigan Press dedicated to publishing innovative work in new media studies and digital humanities
 
Open Humanities Press an international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide
 

Computer Science

Green Tea Press

 

Open Textbooks

Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective

Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today. 

Financial Accounting

This book is intended for an undergraduate or MBA level Financial Accounting course. It covers the standard topics in a standard sequence, utilizing the Socratic method of asking and answering questions.

Intermediate Financial Accounting Volume 1

This text is intended for a first course in Intermediate Financial Accounting. It assumes that students have already completed one or two Introductory Financial Accounting courses. 

International Finance: Theory and Policy

International Finance: Theory and Policy is International Finance Theory and Policy is built on the author's belief that to understand the international economy, students need to learn how economic models are applied to real world problems. Economic models provide insights about the world that are simply not obtainable solely by discussion of the issues.

Introduction to Financial Accounting

Managerial Accounting

Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today’s students and addresses accounting industry changes as well.

Open Textbooks

Introduction to Computer Graphics

Introduction to Computer Graphics is  a free, on-line textbook covering the fundamentals of computer graphics and computer graphics programming.

Graphic Design and Print Production Fundamentals

This textbook -- written by a group of select experts with a focus on different aspects of the design process, from creation to production -- addresses the many steps of creating and then producing physical, printed, or other imaged products that people interact with on a daily basis. It covers the concept that, while most modern graphic design is created on computers using design software, the ideas and concepts don’t stay on the computer. The ideas need to be completed in the computer software, then progress to an imaging (traditionally referred to as printing) process. Keywords are highlighted throughout and summarized in a Glossary at the end of the book, and each chapter includes exercises and suggested readings.

Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning

Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art. Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbooks offers up-to-date original scholarship. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses.

 

Open Textbooks

Concepts of Biology is designed for the introductory biology course for nonmajors taught at most two- and four-year colleges. The scope, sequence, and level of the program are designed to match typical course syllabi in the market. Concepts of Biology includes interesting applications, features a rich art program, and conveys the major themes of biology.     Biology is grounded in an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand. The book also includes an innovative art program that incorporates critical thinking and clicker questions to help students understand—and apply—key concepts.     Designed to support a course in microbiology, this laboratory experience permits a glimpse into the microscopic world and engages student interest in microbiology as a topic, field of study, and career. Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience provides a series of laboratory exercises suitable for a one-semester undergraduate microbiology or bacteriology course with a three- or four-hour lab period that meets once or twice a week. This lab manual conforms to the American Society for Microbiology curriculum guidelines and takes a ground-up approach.


Additional Sources of Open Textbooks

NLM / NCBI Bookshelf (National Library of Medicine / National Center for Biotechnology Information) "provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare." To use these materials, see the Copyright information.

Additional Course materials

Encyclopedia of Life  "Our knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice."  -EOL

The Cell: An Image Library, from the American Society for Cell Biology.https://www.cellimagelibrary.org/home This impressive open-access resource sponsored by the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) boasts nearly 9,000 multimedia files. ASCB states that the site is primarily a research tool, but also an educational resource. It is browsable by cell process, cell component, cell type, and organism. A free "Cell Library" app for iPhone and iPad is available through the AppStore. User accounts allow for the creation of folders and storing of image records. The site's Pivot View section provides an image gallery view that can be filtered by cell type, cell line, organism, image type, author, and license.

Virtual Histology Lab -University of Oklahoma The Virtual Histology Lab features an introduction to using microscopes, an introduction to histological staining and cell structure.  Furthermore, it is a collection of images of tissue specimens intended to accompany a histology class.  The contents of this site are under the full copyright of their creator.

MIT Life Sciences Course. Pursuing an education in Life Sciences is both exciting and challenging, and we hope you experience both in viewing this collation!"  To re-use these materialsfollow the CC BY NC SA permissions.

"PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations. We extensively test and evaluate each simulation to ensure educational effectiveness."  To re-use these materialsfollow the CC BY 3.0 permissions.

Science Forward "videos have been produced by Science Forward to support inquiry-based basic science classes.  Students, we expect, will watch the videos and come to class with a wider range of basic questions, primed for discussion." To re-use these materials, follow the CC BY NC SA 4.0 permissions.

STEM Resources - Link to a Google Sheet with numerous online resources in the STEM fields.

 

Virtual Labs

Virtual Labs from Merlot Labs & Earth and Environmental Science Labs
Science faculty around the world are adopting innovative online and virtual labs technologies, lab experiments and simulations that engage students in learning through active participation. The Virtual Labs project can support institutions' initiatives to reduce enrollment bottleneck courses for students that are created by insufficient wet lab facilities for laboratory learning. . This site serves as a teachings commons on the use of virtual labs in teaching and learning and provides faculty a "one-stop-shop" to review the available and free virtual labs.
 

Open Textbooks

Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective by Edwards, Hermanson, and Ivancevich (CC BY) This text uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today. Gaining an understanding of accounting terminology and concepts, however, is not enough to ensure your success. You also need to be able to find information on the Internet, analyze various business situations, work effectively as a member of a team, and communicate your ideas clearly. This text was developed to help you develop these skills.

Managerial Accounting by Heisnger & Hoyle (CC BY-NC-SA) The authors believe that students want to learn accounting in the most efficient way possible, balancing coursework with personal schedules. They tend to focus on their studies in short intense segments between jobs, classes, and family commitments. Meanwhile, the accounting industry has endured dramatic shifts since the collapse of Enron and WorldCom, causing a renewed focus on ethical behavior in accounting. This dynamic author team designed Managerial Accounting to work within the confines of today’s students’ lives while delivering a modern look at managerial accounting. Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today’s students and addresses accounting industry changes as well. 

Mastering Strategic Management by Ketchen & Short (CC BY-NC-SA) This text is designed to enhance student engagement in three innovative ways: 1. through visual adaptations of the key content in the book; 2. using a real-world company as the running example in each chapter; and  3. “strategy at the movies” feature in each chapter that links course concepts with a popular motion picture. 

Business Law and the Legal Environment

This textbook provides context and essential concepts across the entire range of legal issues with which managers and business executives must grapple. The text provides the vocabulary and legal acumen necessary for businesspeople to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, government officials—and to their own lawyers.

Foundations of Business Law and Legal Environment

Business Law and the Legal Environment provides students with context and essential concepts across a broad range of legal issues with which managers and business executives must grapple. The text provides the vocabulary and legal savvy necessary for business people to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, government officials — and to their own lawyers.

Advanced Business Law and the Legal Environment

Advanced Business Law and the Legal Environment is an up-to-date textbook with coverage of legal and regulatory issues that are more technical than the topics in the authors’ Foundations of Business Law and the Legal Environment.

Building Strategy and Performance

This book uses a balanced blend of frameworks and illustrations to teach you how to tackle the challenge of driving performance into the future.

Business Communication for Success

Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.

Contract Doctrine, Theory & Practice - Volume 1

Contract Doctrine, Theory & Practice - Volume 2

A series of Contracts casebooks.

Corporate Governance

Corporate Governance by de Kluyver is a primer on corporate governance. It is designed to help students understand corporate governance by looking at the subject from both a macro- and micro-perspective.

Developing New Products and Services

Developing New Products and Services by Sanders is an outstanding contribution to market research. The book focuses on the upfront activities and ideas for new product and service development.

Electronic Commerce: The Strategic Perspective

It is written both for practitioners and business students. Managers wishing to understand how electronic commerce is revolutionizing business will find that our comprehensive coverage of essential business issues (e.g., pricing and distribution) answers many of their questions. Advanced business students (junior, seniors, and graduate students) will find that the blend of academic structure and practical examples provides an engaging formula for learning.

eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Online Marketing

eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Online Marketing is a textbook intended for third and fourth year marketing students and draws on both academic theory and practical experience. The book offers students information that is applicable to the eMarket industry by providing examples that are easily relatable. The book covers all of the important aspects of online marketing, including the areas associated with search engine marketing, affiliate marketing, web analytics and conversion optimisation, web development, online copywriting, online advertising, webPR, online reputation management, pay per click advertising, viral marketing, social media marketing, search engine optimisation, eMarketing strategy, market research, mobile marketing, crowd sourcing, and customer relationship management. The book also features summaries, learning objectives and discussion points for each chapter, as well as, a glossary.

Exploring Business

Introducing students to business in an exciting way.

Fundamentals of Business

Fundamentals of Business (2016) is an openly licensed textbook designed for use in Virginia Tech’s Pamplin College of Business introductory level business course, MGT1104 Foundations of Business. This work is a project of University Libraries and the Pamplin College of Business, Virginia Tech.

Focusing on Organizational Change

Focusing on Organizational Change offers an alternative to the traditional approach by focusing on building the change capacity of the entire organization in anticipation of future pressures to change. 

Fundamentals of Global Strategy

Crafting a global strategy requires making decisions about which strategy elements can and should be globalized and to what extent, and de Kluyver's Fundamentals of Global Strategy can help you illuminate these facts to your students.

Good Corporation, Bad Corporation: Corporate Social Responsibility in the Global Economy

This textbook provides an innovative, internationally oriented approach to the teaching of corporate social responsibility (CSR) and business ethics. 

Government Regulation and the Legal Environment of Business

Mayer, Warner, Siedel and Lieberman's Government Regulation and the Legal Environment of Business is an up-to-date textbook that covers legal issues that students must understand in today’s highly regulated business environment. 

Guidelines for Improving the Effectiveness of Boards of Directors of Nonprofit Organizations

The purpose of this book is to help boards of directors of nonprofit organizations improve their performance after completing the Board Check-Up, online board performance self-assessment tool found at www.boardcheckup.com. This book is also valuable as a stand-alone resource for any board seeking to assess its performance in that it contains the diagnostic questions on which the online self-assessment tool is based.

Human Resource Management

Human Resource Management teaches HRM strategies and theories that any manager—not just those in HR—needs to know about recruiting, selecting, training, and compensating people.

Introducing Marketing

Through good economic times and bad, marketing remains the pivotal function in any business. 

Introduction to Contracts, Sales and Product Liability

Mastering Strategic Management

Teaching the strategic management course can be a challenge for many professors. In most business schools, strategic management is a “capstone” course that requires students to draw on insights from various functional courses they have completed (such as marketing, finance, and accounting) in order to understand how top executives make the strategic decisions that drive whether organizations succeed or fail. Although students have taken these functional courses, many students have very little experience with major organizational choices. It is this inexperience that can undermine many students’ engagement in the course.

Organizational Behavior

Organizational Behavior bridges the gap between theory and practice with a distinct ”experiential“ approach.

Principles of Management

Principles of Management teaches management principles to tomorrow’s business leaders by weaving three threads through every chapter: strategy, entrepreneurship and active leadership.

Principles of Marketing

Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing - not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment.

Project Management from Simple to Complex

In a world that is becoming more virtual, more global, and more complex, the project manager's ability to function in this environment becomes critical to the success of the project. Project Management from Simple to Complex explores project management within this complex, virtual, and global environment.

Additional Sources of Open Textbooks

Accounting / Finance:  1  2

Business, Management & Marketing 1 2 3 4

Business Technology

Human Resources Management / Organizational Behavior

Additional Course Materials

OpenCourseWare, Case Studies, Guides etc. from MERLOT (Rights vary)

TED Ed Business & Economics channel (CC BY)

Courseware from Sloan School of Management (CC BY NC,SA) 

Gaming/Simulation Packages and Books (Association for Business Simulation and Experiential Learning) (Rights vary)

Open Textbooks

Introductory Chemistry open textbook from BCcampus

 

 

 

       Title screen shot of Concept Development Studies in Chemistry       Virtual textbook of organic chemistry - title screenshot

 


Additional Open Textbooks

ChemEd DL includes "...digital resources, tools, and online services ... for teaching and learning chemistry." "The Chemical Education Digital Library Living Textbooks are online textbooks which cover a variety of topics including general and physical chemistry." See the Terms of Use.

Additional Course Materials

"XCITR is a repository for exploring and sharing chemical information teaching resources." To re-use these materials, follow the terms of use.

"PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations. We extensively test and evaluate each simulation to ensure educational effectiveness."  To re-use these materialsfollow the CC BY 3.0 permissions.

Open Chemistry by the University of California - Irvine - Selected courses including required lecture courses for undergraduate UCI Chemistry majors and some electives and graduate courses. Video lectures are licensed CC BY SA 3.0.  

The ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and e-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books. See also the ChemWiki CoreTo re-use these materials, follow the CC BY NC SA 3.0 permissions.

ChemCollective The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
 
STEM Resources - Link to a Google Sheet with numerous online resources in the STEM fields.
 

Virtual Labs

Chemistry Virtual Labs from Merlot Labs

Science faculty around the world are adopting innovative online and virtual labs technologies, lab experiments and simulations that engage students in learning through active participation. The Virtual Labs project can support institutions' initiatives to reduce enrollment bottleneck courses for students that are created by insufficient wet lab facilities for laboratory learning. . This site serves as a teachings commons on the use of virtual labs in teaching and learning and provides faculty a "one-stop-shop" to review the available and free virtual labs.

Open Textbooks

Educational Psychology

In general, the first half of the book focuses on broader questions and principles taken from psychology per se, and the second half focuses on somewhat more practical issues of teaching. But the division between “theory” and “practice” is only approximate; all parts of the book draw on research, theory, and practical wisdom wherever appropriate.

Educational Learning Theories

The authors of this textbook remixed other works to create twelve chapters that cover major educational learning theories such as behaviorism, cognitive learning, multiple intelligences, etc. Slides are available. 

Steps to Success: Crossing the Bridge Between Literacy Research and Practice

Steps to Success: Crossing the Bridge Between Literacy Research and Practice introduces instructional strategies linked to the most current research-supported practices in the field of literacy. The book includes chapters related to scientifically-based literacy research, early literacy development, literacy assessment, digital age influences on children’s literature, literacy development in underserved student groups, secondary literacy instructional strategies, literacy and modern language, and critical discourse analysis.

Teaching in a Digital Age: Guidelines for designing teaching and learning for a digital age

The book examines the underlying principles that guide effective teaching in an age when everyone, and in particular the students we are teaching, are using technology.

Education for a Digital World: Advice, Guidelines and Effective Practice from Around Globe

Education for a Digital World contains a comprehensive collection of proven strategies and tools for effective online teaching, based on the principles of learning as a social process. 

Comprehensive Individualized Curriculum and Instructional Design: Curriculum and Instruction for Students with Developmental Disabilities/Autism Spectrum Disorders

This open textbook addresses the population of individuals with disabilities that experience complex lifelong needs across multiple areas in their lives. Drs. Sennott and Loman drafted this book (along with the help from some friends) with the hope of providing pertinent, practical, and current resources to future special educators who plan to serve individuals with complex disabilities.

The Information Literacy User's Guide: An Open, Online Textbook

The Information Literacy User’s Guide introduces students to critical concepts of information literacy as defined for the information-infused and technology-rich environment in which they find themselves. This book helps students examine their roles as information creators and sharers and enables them to more effectively deploy related skills. This textbook includes relatable case studies and scenarios, many hands-on exercises, and interactive quizzes.

Writing

In Effectiveness in Writing, readers will learn how to evaluate and write argumentative essays and continue to develop and strengthen knowledge of research and citation.
Writing Commons

Literature, The Humanities, and Humanity (CC BY-NC-SA) SUNYOpenTextbooks

The Process of Research Writing (CC BY-NC-SA) 

Research, Analysis and Writing 

Additional Open Textbooks

English (from BCCampus)

Writing & Humanities (from Univ of MN)

English Composition (from CollegeOpenTextbooks)

Additional Course Materials

MIT Open Courseware on literature (CC BY NC SA)

English Composition I CC BY (Saylor Foundation)

Writing Spaces (licenses vary)

Online Writing Lab (Purdue) - (c) All Rights Reserved

See Also

TED Talks (CC BY NC-ND) on literature

Guide to Finding Interesting Works in the Public Domain Online

HathiTrust Digital Library (7 million volumes, 1 billion pages. 1200s-Present)

Project Gutenberg (45,000+ books in the public domain)

Early English Books Online (public domain) (digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700)

Featured Resource

Medline Plus Videos & Cool Tools - general health education, consumer health, and patient education resources. "Learn by watching health videos on topics such as human anatomy, surgical procedures, and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health by using the calculators and quizzes." To re-use these materials, see the Copyright Information. Includes Interactive tutorials, Anatomy videos, Surgery videos, and more.

Open Textbooks

Anatomy and Physiology by OpenStax College


  • Anatomy and Physiology, OpenStax College, CC BY 3.0

Additional Open Textbooks

NLM / NCBI Bookshelf (National Library of Medicine / National Center for Biotechnology Information) "provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare." To use these materials, see the Copyright information.

Additional Course Materials

JHSPH Open by John Hopkins School of Public Health, includes open courses, research by topics and images.

Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology open courses include a variety of topics such as: Health Information Systems to Improve Quality of Care in Resource-Poor Settings, Biomedical Signal and Image Processing, Genomics and Computational Biology, and Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging: Data Acquisition and Analysis. These courses include many types of course materials such as: video/audio lectures, lecture notes, assessments, online textbooks, interactive simulationsTo re-use these materials, see the Creative Commons CC BY NC SA 4.0 license and Terms of Use.

Images

Photoshare, "Thousands of International Health and Development Images, Free for nonprofit and educational use." - supported by Johns Hopkins University. Terms of Use

 

 

NIH Image Bank, "The NIH Image Bank contains images from the collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care-related images, microscopyimages, and various exterior images." Copyright and Re-use

 

 

HEAL - Health Education Assets Library - "The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library." Copyright: Unrestricted use for educational purposes - check individual image 'rights' information for extent of re-use allowed for that image.

 

 

Public Health Image Library - Images from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Terms of use information is on their FAQ page and states, "Images are either 'Public Domain' (free use) or 'Copyright Protected' (restricted, obtain permission before use)" - most are public domain, but check individual image information regarding public domain or copyright status.

Open Textbooks

U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.

 

Additional Open Textbooks

History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877

This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history.

Native Peoples of North America

Native Peoples of North America is intended to be an introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective. As such, the text is organized around anthropological concepts such as language, kinship, marriage and family life, political and economic organization, food getting, spiritual and religious practices, and the arts.

World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500

World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. Authored by six USG faculty members with advance degrees in History, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. 

The American Yawp

A Free and Online, Collaboratively Built American History Textbook

Featured Resource

MathisPower4U Videos for Algebra, Geometry, Trig and Calculus

Open Textbooks

Precalculus by OpenStaxOpenStax College ISBN: 9781938168345 Publication Date: 2014-10-23

OpenStaxOpenStax Calculus  (Vol1) (Vol2) (Vol3)

APEX Calculus / Greg Hartman (CC BY-NC)

Calculus I Lab Manual (Portland Commuity College (CC BY SA)

Homework Software Systems

MyOpenMath

WeBWork

Online Interactive Graphing Application

Additional Open Textbooks

American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbook Initiative (various licenses)

Open Textbook Library

BC Open Campus

Additional Course Materials

Introduction to MATLAB(R) CC BY-NC-SA

National Science Digital Library

PhET Interactive Simulations (University of Colorado)

WolframAlpha computational knowledge engine

Applied Math and Science Education Repository

STEM Resources - Link to a Google Sheet with numerous online resources in the STEM fields.

 

Virtual Labs

Math, Physics, and Engineering Virtual Labs from Merlot Labs

Science faculty around the world are adopting innovative online and virtual labs technologies, lab experiments and simulations that engage students in learning through active participation. The Virtual Labs project can support institutions' initiatives to reduce enrollment bottleneck courses for students that are created by insufficient wet lab facilities for laboratory learning. . This site serves as a teachings commons on the use of virtual labs in teaching and learning and provides faculty a "one-stop-shop" to review the available and free virtual labs.

Open Textbooks

Understanding Basic Music Theory

An introduction to the expanded music theory course, with suggestions on how to use the materials.

Understanding Music: Past and Present

Understanding Music: Past and Present is an open Music Appreciation textbook co-authored by music faculty across Georgia. 

Music and the Child

This book explores a holistic, artistic, and integrated approach to understanding the developmental connections between music and children. This book guides professionals to work through music, harnessing the processes that underlie music learning, and outlining developmentally appropriate methods to understand the role of music in children’s lives through play, games, creativity, and movement. Additionally, the book explores ways of applying music-making to benefit the whole child, i.e., socially, emotionally, physically, cognitively, and linguistically.

Open Textbooks

Modern Philosophy

This is a textbook in modern philosophy. It combines readings from primary sources with two pedagogical tools. 

Open Logic Project

The Open Logic Project is a collection of teaching materials on mathematical logic aimed at a non-mathematical audience, intended for use in advanced logic courses as taught in many philosophy departments. 

Open Textbooks

American Government is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester American government course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including Insider Perspective features and a Get Connected Module that shows students how they can get engaged in the political process. The book provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of American government and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. American Government includes updated information on the 2016 presidential election.

 

American Government and Politics in the Information Age

This text is a comprehensive introduction to the vital subject of American government and politics.

Open Textbooks

Jhangiani, R., & Dastur, F. (2014, Oct.). Opening up psychology: Adopting open textbooks, open pedagogy, and an open philosophy in the classroom. Symposium at the 2014 Annual Conference on the Teaching of Psychology, Atlanta, GA. Resource List


NOBA Project textbooks 

NOBA Project Psychology Textbooks (Follow the license terms: CC BY NC SA 4.0)   Read about the NOBA Project

Introduction to Psychology "wikibook"

Introduction to Psychology (Carnegie Mellon Open Learning Initiative) CC BY NC SA 3.0

Principles of Psychology by Steven E. Wisecarver (email the author) (Follow the license terms: CC BY 4.0)

OpenStax Psychology textbook cover

 

 OpenStax Psychology includes ancillary resources (Follow the license terms: CC BY)\

 

 


Cover of Research Methods in Psychology. 5 star rating, ISBN 978-1-4533236-0-1, and URL for two reviews

 Psychology as a Biological Science (Noba) http://noba.to/cv4ktxnq (Follow the license terms: CC BY NC SA)


Developmental Psychology from Boundless (freely available, editable but not openly licensed or freely downloadable).

Open course Lifespan Development (Saylor Foundation) Licence terms: CC BY Note: Needs updating.  See also Lifespan Development

eBooks on developmental psychology from University Libraries (no-additional-cost to students/faculty, but not openly licensed or editable. Downloading privileges vary by vendor platform.)


Open course Theories of Personality (Saylor Foundation) Licence terms: CC BY Note: Needs updating.

Personality & Pedagogy resource page


Open course: Psychology of Learning & Behavior (Saylor Foundation) Licence terms: CC BY Note: Needs updating.

eBooks on Learning and Behavior; Springer eBooks on Learning and Behavior. from University Libraries (no-additional-cost to students/faculty, but not openly licensed or editable. Downloading privileges vary by vendor platform.)


 Cognitive Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience (BCCampus.ca) Terms: CC BY SA

Also in a Wiki-Books format


Principles of Social Psychology (1st International Edition) (BC Campus.ca) Terms: CC BY NC SA  (See the author's keynote presentation at the Open Textbook Summit - May 2015 Vancouver BC)

Principles of Social Psychology (original edition/Maryland) CC BY NC SA

eBooks on Social Psychology from University Libraries (no-additional-cost to students/faculty, but not openly licensed or editable. Downloading privileges vary by vendor platform.)


Abnormal Psychology: An e-text! (Dr. Caleb Lack, UCentral Oklahoma and Arkansas Tech University) (Terms: CC BY NC SA) The entire site, with the exception of DSM criteria is CC-licensed.

Abnormal Psychology - from Northwestern Michigan College

eBooks on Abnormal Psychology from University Libraries (no-additional-cost to students/faculty, but not openly licensed or editable. Downloading privileges vary by vendor platform.)


Abnormal Child Psychology - still working on this!


Open Course Industrial/Organizational Psychology (Saylor Foundation) Licence terms: CC BY Note: Needs updating.


BioInformatics/Neuroinformatics Course: CC BY ND (verbatim copying only; no changes allowed)


Open Course Neuropsychology (Saylor Foundation) Licence terms: CC BY Note: Needs updating.

Additional Open Textbooks

Edited chapters from many different institutions are available from OpenStax CNX.

Search for additional textbooks from the University of Minnesota Open Textbook Library

See CollegeOpenTextbooks for a wider variety of Lower-Division Undergraduate psychology open textbooks

Saylor Academy Open Courses (GitHub)

Additional Course Materials

Lectures:

Statistics in Psychosocial Research (Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, Open Courseware) CC BY NC SA

New Psychology of Depression (University of Oxford) CC BY NC SA

Open Yale psychology courses


Modules from CNX.org (Rice University) [Advanced search]

Psychology (higher ed level) resources from OER Commons

MERLOT

Additional Resources

Search the National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf (Some materials are Public Domain; others are under copyright)

Publications (booklets, brochures, fact sheets) from the National Institute of Mental Health

Evaluating OER

As a faculty member, the process you will use to evaluate OER is very similar to the process you follow to review textbooks or gather course-packet materials. Some issues to consider are:

  1. Does this OER cover the content you'd like your students to learn in this course or module?
  2. How accessible is this content? Will accessing it be too technically difficult?
  3. Is the level of the material appropriate? Is it too difficult? Or, vice versa, is it robust and challenging enough for your students?
  4. Does only a portion of it apply to your class? Would you possibly want to combine this OER with another OER or resource?
  5. If you'd like to use only part of a resource or alter/remix it, are you allowed to do so? How can you use the content? Who do you have to recognize if you use it? Verify the license that the resource is under.
  6. If you do want to modify or remix the material, will you be able to do so? For more help with this, please contact the library.

 

Evaluation tools

OER Evaluation Tools

Achieve Open Educational Resources Evaluation Tool Handbook