Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Canvas Help Guide: Access to Library Resources

Adding Library Resources to Canvas

With the assistance of ITS, the library has been able to add the Springshare Learning Tool Interoperability (LTI) to our campus Canvas. This tool allows us to integrate content directly into your Canvas course and that content will appear within the LMS frame. This means that your students will not be shifted outside of the Canvas system to access library resources. This point-of-need service gives them what they need right alongside all of their other course information, links, discussions, etc.

Currently, this tool is an opt-in option on Canvas, meaning you have to add it manually to have the page in your course. However, this is an easy add on for our faculty and can be done by following the simple steps below:

  1. Navigate to your course in Canvas
  2. Click on ‘Settings’ (far bottom of the left-hand nav-bar in your course)
  3. Click on Navigation
  4. Drag ‘Library Resources’ above the ‘Drag items here to hide them from students’ line.

If you need assistance on adding this tool to your course, please email Andrew Adler for assistance.

Access to Library Resources

Need to access a library resource while off-campus? No problem. As long as you have internet access, you can access the library's electronic resources. To start, first click Databases on our homepage to gain access to our A-Z list of our electronic databases. 

Tips:

  • The library has access to close to 400,000 eBooks through our various vendors. You can access e-books off-campus, so take advantage of them.
  • Limited internet access? Most databases allow you to download articles to your computer in PDF format so you can view them later. With e-books, you can often download or print limited portions.

Providing Access to Course Materials

Share Accessible Links

When sharing content on Canvas, only link out to content from the Library catalog, Library databases, or content that is open access. If there is no access through the library or in the open, use Interlibrary Loan.

 

Stable URLs & Permalinks

When linking content from a library database, make sure you use the Permalink or stable URL rather than the url in the address bar. 

Permalinks and stable URLs shoe up in various places, depending on the database. For instance, in EBSCO databases, the permalink shows up on the right hand sidebar of the article record. By clicking the link, the link will appear at the top of the record. Incorporate that link into any assignment or information you share with your class. 

JSTOR functions differently than EBSCO databases. The stable URL will appear on the left side of the page above the Cite this Item button. Incorporate that link into any assignment or information you share with your class.You may also encounter articles on JSTOR that require downloading before they can be read - once downloaded, the PDFs can be shared via Canvas or email.

To ensure that links are available for use off-campus, add the following prefix to the link: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/georgetowncollege.edu?url=.

For example: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/georgetowncollege.edu?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25080591

The prefix will route any off-campus user to the OpenAthens log in.

 

General Troubleshooting Tips

Occasionally issues may keep you from accessing electronic resources. Some things you can try to troubleshoot the problem:

  • Access to Ensor LRC electronic resources uses OpenAthens through our own internal Portal authentication. If you cannot access the library resources remotely, please contact Maria Taylor. This may be because of a change in the system or a technical issue.
  • If you are having difficulty with your password, please email the ITS Helpdesk. You may need to reset your password in the Portal in order to access the materials.
  • If it is not an issue with your password or OpenAthens, try clearing the cache and deleting cookies in your browser. Don't know how to do this? Google "clear cache" or "delete cookies" and the name of your browser. You can also try using "incognito mode" or "private browsing mode" (depending on your browswer), which should allow you to try that browser without clearing the cache and deleting cookies should be effective.
  • Try another internet browser.
  • If you are using wifi or computers at a different institution or library, there can be firewall issues when trying to connect to Georgetown resources. Try using the internet from another location such as a coffee shop to see if that fixes the problem. 

If you continue to experience connection issues, please contact the library. Please provide as much information as you can, including the name of your browser, the database you are trying to connect to, and any error messages you may be seeing. If possible, take a screenshot. 

Interlibrary Loan

Off-campus access to Ensor LRC's Interlibrary Loan service is available in the event that you need to teach or research remotely. 

We can electronically provide:

  • articles
  • chapters of books

We cannot provide

  • entire books

Questions?

Email Michele Ruth if you have any questions regarding Interlibrary Loan

 

Need Help? Ask Us!

We're available via chat on Monday-Thurday from 8am-8pm and Fridays 8am-5pm.

Chat with a Librarian


Text Us

Text (502) 799-4094 to get help.


Consultations

Set up an individual research consultation with a member of our research team.


Email Us

Email our Research Team with your question.

Attribution

Guide template and various resources copied, with permission, from J. Douglas Gay Jr./Frances Carrick Thomas Library at Transylvania University.